RO/DI Water Transport

Rgwiz11

Kind of a really weird question, but I'm completely new to this whole saltwater hobby, so here it goes. I got my tank last night and my roommate and I spent the good part of 3 hours cleaning it out and making sure we were ready to go when we start the filling, and cycling process. I don't want to use tap water when we fill it, as I've seen that it creates quite a bit of brown algae and just adds more unnecessary time to the cycling process. However, I'm worried about how I'm going to get 75g of RO/DI water to my tank. I'm just very unfamiliar with how to get the water from a supplier. Do I have to provide my own buckets, or will they provide them for me? If I'm providing them, any suggestions on how to keep them from sloshing around during transport? Eventually, I hope to get my own RO/DI unit, but that won't be until later down the road.

Most of us use these 5 gallon jugs you can get at your local fish store. That being said. For a 75 Gallon tank you are already looking at recouping the loss by the time your first fish goes in the tank. I'm assuming a 25G sump here

4 x 5g jugs - 24$

20G per trip = 5 Trips back and forth to the LFS --- say 20$ in gas

100G ro water is 25-50$

Don't forget that you will be swapping out your water pretty regularly through the cycle. Say 25% every week for 2 months = 200G of water during the cycle.

So you will easily pay for a $75-100 RO/DI by the time your first fish gets in the tank.

So what I did last week....

Invested in a 55gallon plastic barrel (food grade quality).