Moving a 75g setup from the Gulf Coast to Austin

Austinvines

Hey. John (the Dude) suggested I ask the group for some advice about transporting a two year old tank from Texas City to my home in Oak Hill. If I get the tank, I will have my wife's suburban assault vehicle (minivan) to transport everything in a climate controlled space. I am going to a restaurant supply store at lunch today to check out the 20 gallon heavy duty totes that are made by Rubbermaid which will handle the 120#'s of LR, water and corals (large bubble coral colony and multiple GSP colonies). There are six fish (purple tang, flame angel, two blennies and a pair of clowns) which I will put into a cooler with a battery powered bubbler from the moment we start until I get them to my house.

The sump it comes with is from Ecosystems (miracle mud) and it currently has a HOT skimmer on the sump. I am a total beginner in this hobby so I do not want to mess with something that works at this point so I will need to keep this going. The owner had it running for two years and it cured the PT of HLLE when he got it 8 months ago.

Once I get the tank home, it is going to take me awhile to get the tank reaquascaped and refilled with as much old clean water as I can keep and topped off with new SW (he uses Kent- should I stick with this for now or begin changing over to IO or a different salt?). I will have to refit the plumbing/sump/powerheads back together and question whether I should start a QT tank for the fish, or get the tank up and running as soon as possible and get them back into their home (although it will look completely different since the rockwork will change-possibly substantially). I am worried about the PT flipping out and killing his neighbors in the QT but worry that if I put him in the large tank first, he won't let anyone else in...