Blue and yellow tang have ich.

cliff

Saw it this morning. I set up my 26 gallon hospital tank. And I am waiting for it to fill up. I bought some copper medication and I'm going to quarantine them for a month. Am I doing this right? Any other ideas?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just acclamation of temp, you should be good, if you need more rm i pick up a clean empty tank yesterday you can use as well 46 gal, just check temp make sure you pre mix if adding anything to the saltwater, pump and heater and a little light should be good, but im new to all this as well, my tank both had a big cycle then a real short cycle because i messed with them scaping and such moving rock fm my 29 to my bigger tank, but soon as they started to recycle i did water change all good now for about 10 days

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

I've never used copper so I can't comment too much on your current plan.

I'd personally use tank transfer method (TTM) if the fish are still healthy enough to survive another week. Transfer four times between two tanks every 72 hrs, making sure to dry tank and equipment completely between transfers. You must have two sets of everything...heater, pump, tank. Twelve days total and no more ich. If the fish ever exceed 72 hrs in any tank, you must start the whole process over.

If it's gotten so bad that they don't look like they'll survive that long, I'd do chloroquine phosphate. It works very quickly for relief and very easy on the fish... not as harsh as copper. NLS sells it in powder form, just follow the directions on the bottle. You can find it at RCA and Aquadome usually.

521e31ec561a4bba72fd4ad2e2082343.jpg

Keep in mind there are no test kits for CP so if you do a water change, add back in what you took out so the concentration always stays the same. For instance, if you change out 10 gals of water, replace CP dose for 10 gals that you removed.

Also, CP degrades under UV light so no light over your QT. Ambient room light will do.