Newbie here

phily_aw

There is a bazillion opinions on what is best. I sorted through them for months and months and am still confused on what is best for growth and color. What are you planning on putting in your tank?

I currently use the marine orbit led lights. I personally really like them on my 20L. Build thread link is in my sig. Others are old school and rock metal halides. Some people rock T5 high outputs. I have 2 strips of marine orbits on my tank. One of the 18-24 in models and another 24-30 in (upgraded from a 10G to the 20L. I have shadows in the sides since they do not stretch all the way across the tank but I like that for low light corals on the sides. 2 strips was also needed cause of the width of the tank.

Thanks I appreciate the help. I'm still new so not sure what to put in it. Right now I have a maroon clown, a striped damsel, and a pj Cardinal. For the clown I have an bubble tip anemone. Other then that not sure. I just don't know what is what. c8979414cda1bf511358b496d5432443.jpg

IMHO choosing a light should be based on two factors.

First and foremost. What livestock you wish to keep.

Second. The asthetics of the light output. i.e. Do you like a very bright white or more of a blue.

If you plan on mostly keeping fish, then pretty much any light will do, and it would boil down to #2. What color do you like your tank at.

Personally, I subscribe to the 'buy once, cry once' adage, and try to choose something that can grow with my interest. If you're planning on keeping soft corals, and some lower light level LPS, a smaller light will do you. If you want to eventually get into higher light corals, then you'll want something with much more power.

Metal Halides are tried and true, and can grow just about anything when applied correctly. I'm not a big fan of MH because of the heat they produce and the evaporation.