Mentor Biography - JeeperTy

mFrame

And now an introduction from Ty:

Hello ARC,

I am honored to have been given the opportunity to participate in the ARC mentor program. Here's just a quick biography of my experiences and what has driven my passion for this amazingly rewarding hobby!

I won't tell you of the first time I smelled saltwater, or of the first time I setup a betta tank. I will tell you that I was an absolute nature show nerd (back before the Nature Channel or Discovery Channel existed) and when I saw my first video of a coral reef... I was in love!

This passion even drove me to attend Texas A&M University at Galveston to get my major in Marine Biology. That's where the intersection of my dreams versus reality set in and I realized there wasn't much of a career to be had for me in Marine Biology, so I majored in Ocean and Coastal Resources instead and became an environmental scientist. Fast forward to me moving out to California to be a beach bum and during my first Christmas out there in 2003, I went home to spend it with my family back in Texas and my brother sends me back with a 12-gallon nanocube. If he'd had known the obsession he inspired with the one thoughtful gift, he may have gotten me a new sweater instead!

I ran that 12-gallon nanocube for the better part of 5 years. Being the tinkerer that I am, I upgraded the fans, added an extra power compact bulb (probably cranking a whole 100 par by that time... wow!), turned the back middle chamber into a refugium by adding chaeto and a refugium light, and proceeded to nail down my water change schedule (I'm sure ARC as a whole is letting out a collective gasp... Ty? Water Change?) to every two weeks, religiously. That nanocube purred like a kitten. And guess what my first coral was? A green fungia plate coral about the size of a dime. Go figure!