ednadadie's first tank build

edandadie

edandadie’s first tank build

March 1, 2013

Greetings! My name is Ed, and I’m a newbie. I've always been fascinated by aquaria

and have been patiently waiting for several years to get my act together. Alas, here we are!

It all started almost 5 years ago in San Antonio with my ex-boss, offering to give me

his broken 100 gal tank, if I would come get it out of his apartment. I loved the idea,

though had no idea what I was getting myself into. Sure enough, one of the long side

pieces of glass was broken- he was none too pleased with sharing the results of how

that happened. At least he was on a bottom floor apartment. He directed me to his LFS

who fixed me up with a new piece, sealed up for around $100.

So I said, “Now what boss?” He just smiled, laughed, and said “good luck” smile.png Three years

later, while the tank quietly stood empty on its end in the garage, I got notice of a job

transfer to Austin. Excited about the move my wife Adie and I found a place to live in

Round Rock, and I had the perfect spot to set up that tank.

One day now about a year ago I came across a local fish store while on lunch break

down by my office- Fishy Business near Burnet and Braker. So I stopped in, and started

phase 2 of my experience; education. Walking in the place my eyes were drawn to their

beautiful main display tank, which was jam-packed with live rock. No sand though. I had

heard stories of sand and bacteria and cycling; I respect nature’s way of doing things,

but was at a loss on how to try and mimic it successfully when considering how vast the

ocean is and how small my aquarium was.

What they said was simple and sounded right to me. The idea was to keep the water

clean, and having a potentially unstable environment in sand could compromise that.

As a result, I decided on the Berlin Method, as they practice at Fishy Business. Lots and