Looking to learn!

NewtoReef

Hi!

I sure am glad I found this site, nice to know theres a club in Austin. I found the link through aqua-tek.com. I am brand new to saltwater tanks. I found a 55g tank complete with all pumps some slightly living rock 2 clowns and a damsel on craigs list for 150$!! i managed to save almost all the water. I transfered the water to another 40g tank and cleaned out the 55g using only water. I made it to petco(yuck but only thing open late night.) 1 minute before they closed and purchased 20pounds of sand, 10 live 10 substrate. Completed my aquascape at about 1am and reintroduced the fish to the newly cleaned tank. 15hours later and the fish seem unaffected they are actively exploring the tank and feeding normally! for a newbie I think im doing pretty well at this point. I would really like to start putting more live rock into the tank but am unsure of which type would be good for someone just starting out. Also whether it is cheaper/more effective to order online or seek out stores in our vicinity.

Thanks alot, I hope I can find out more of whats going on inside my tank and get that puppy bumping with some more life soon :). Gabriel.

Welcome to the club and hobby.

Did you get any test kits? I would keep an eye on your ammonia and nitrites for a couple weeks in case you get a small cycle. If they start to rise you should do some water changes. Depending on how much rock you need it may be over kill to try and order it. I would shop around for pieces you like locally and add them slowly. This will also help keep your tank stable. Adding a bunch at once, especially any that is shipped, would start a cylce and possibly kill your fish.

HTH

Hi!