I want a cube!

generatorx

• 1 month later...
I want to get my feet wet with salt water. I have been doing fresh water for about 4 years. I am looking to get a cube shaped tank anywhere from 24-37 gallons. I don't care if it is an oceanic or a nano. Just wondering whats out there. thanks

-matt

My opinion, if you go it an Nano your going to have to Mod it. I think its better to just go with a drilled Oceanic 30 cube with a sump and remora skimmer. This way its easier to up grade the lighting when or if you what to go SPS. On the other hand you could do the same with a nano with a clip on MH maybe a 150 14K, but you lose the sump. I would never run a reef sumpless, maybe a fish only, everything i have seen points to SUMP. Its a little more $ but keeps things easy to keep up with. Do your homework, you will figure it out. picking out the tank is the easy part, just wait till you stock the tank lol. hope this helps bro.

That is the tank indeed. Euroreef is also coming out with a cool pico tank which should hit around the end of the year/first of next year.

The light appears to either be loved or hated. I like it with the rimless look. I have inquired at a local fish store as to whether they can get them in or not (referring back to the Current Solana). To see a bit more you can try searching the posts on the big central reef site and look for Melev's photos of MACNA. There is an on-line store that is selling the Solana but I don't think you can post their website, but it seems phishy to me ; )

Lee

You should check out The Red Sea Max too... Its a little on the expensive side, but worth it in my opinion. I added a link to a really informative website on them... The guy that picked up ours during that clearance sale says he's really happy with it. The stand seemed really strong too. I remember the wood being really heavy when I built it... Another option is the Aquapod. Its a pretty simple system, but they seem to be really popular... hope that helps :D

-Kat :(