Introducing New Snails & Crabs from former owner

fishface

I just picked up a piece of live rock that has two large snails (maybe they're crabs) attached to it. I am just starting my tank and have one smaller crab and that's it other than some live rock. I purchased a piece of live rock that is really yucky-looking but it has two large "thingies" attached to it in large shells. Am I better off leaving them in the filthy water the rock came in? How do I go about introducing them to my clean tank from the grossly filthy pail the live rock is in? Do I need to clean anything first?

Yes....I'm a newbie and any help would be appreciated.

take the shells from the rock, carefully. put them in a baggy with water that came from where ever you got the rock. let them float for 30min then drop them in your new tank. do not add the water from the bag, that can contaminate your tank.

take the shells from the rock, carefully. put them in a baggy with water that came from where ever you got the rock. let them float for 30min then drop them in your new tank. do not add the water from the bag, that can contaminate your tank.

I'll give it a try, but they're big and gross. What about the live rock they're attached to. It's really dirty but there's lots of live on it. Thanks!

Floating the baggie alone won't do anything but temperature-acclimate them. You need to add water from your tank to the baggie, a little at a time every 5 mins, until you have at least half and half old water and new water, to acclimate them to the water in your tank. As 10g says do not allow the water from the pail to get in your tank, or at least, as little as possible. If you're not able to get the shells off then don't sweat it, just put the rock in your tank.

Look up "drip acclimation." This is the procedure you'll want to use for future additions.