Lighting

C Lo Slice

I have a 60 gallon tank, starting from scratch. I plan on doing a mixed reef with mostly LPS, shrooms, and zoas. I bought a GLO T5HO light fixture and have had nothing but problems with it, so I'm taking it back today. It is a two-light fixture and I'm pretty new to this, but my cousin said I should have at least a 4-light fixture to it would penetrate deep enough (the tank is more tall than anything).

I'm about to head allllll the way up to Gallery of Pets from my home here in Buda. This is a long trek for me and I never have the time to make it. So does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should be looking for when it comes to lights? Maybe some good brands (my GLOs are a piece of junk)? Is my cousin correct when he says I need a 4-lighter?

Thanks in advance

Its all about watts per gallon. Depending on what you want to have you need anywhere from 3-6 watts of light per gallon. For soft corals and polyps (you mentioned above), you can do the lower end of 3-5 watts per gallon. River City Aquatics is maybe ten minutes or less directly north of Gallery of Pets and they are much more knowledgeable about salt water. I too, started with Gallery of Pets but over the past two years they have significantly reduced their salt water inventory in favor of exotic birds. GoP usually only has one staff person (if that) on duty that is knowledgeable about saltwater. Everyone at River City Aquatics can help. RCA is right off the 183. Take the McNeil exit, continue on the service road heading north and then turn right on Roxie drive (it's before Anderson Mill Road). RCA will be on your left.

They also sell okay reef light fixtures at Petco for a decent price - but no one there will be able to give you advice. Go to RCA.