Nathan Explosion's Blog

Nathan Explosion

Well I am just getting into the reef set up. I have a 29 gallon tank with an Emperor 280 filter, a Current 130W light (t5 I think) with lunar led's, about 20-25 lbs of live rock, and about 2 inches of live sand for substrate, 200W heater (i do live in MN) and i just added a Seaclone 100 protien skimmer.

For fish i just have one flame angle and a blue damsel who kills anything else in the tank smaller then him. so once the fish live out their natrual lives i am moving on to corals.

I first wondered if my skimmer was supose to add tons of bubbles into my tank, i know how they work and what they do but i didnt think that the bubbles would be deposited into my tank. there is nothing wrong with that except they get caught up in my live rock and stay there :rolleyes:

next i am looking to turn it into a reef tank and was looking for some good starter corals, something very colorful, and need some ideas, the pet stores around here have no idea what they are talking about and i just need some general advice on what types of coral need what to feed on (if anything at all besides trace elements).

anything helps, i do weekly water changes of 5 gallons almost every week so my water is almost always in good condition, i try and not overfeed, i just need help with the corals and how they grow and placement so i dont want just rush into this with out thinking (again)! money and time are not really a concern, i just wanna do this rite.

NOV 7