Coral Vs Rock

KarenM

I'm new to SW and new to ARC. I'mi n the process of setting up a 40g (tall) SW tank. I cycled it with bio-spira a couple of weeks ago. I now have about 10lbs of Live Rock, 2 percula clowns, 1 unknown but pretty fish, 1 scooter blenny, 6 snails, 3 hermit crabs.

I was going to set up just your avg SW tank with fish & inverts , however now I'm thinking of making it a reef tank. I have a few VERY basic questions:

(1) What kind of light would I need (I now just have the generic light that came with the lid)

(2) Can you mix rock and coral in a reef tank, or would I need to take the LR out?

(3) Does a reef tank limit the size/number of fish/inverts you can have?

(4) Does coral perform as a filter the same as LR?

(5) Other than the coral or rock, what are the basic differences in the tanks' environments?

Thanks for your help!

Welcome to the club and the addiction! :(

1) It would depend on what type of coral you want to keep. If you just want softies PC or Power Compact lights will work. If you want Stoney corals you will need either T5s or Metal Halides. You will also need to take into consideration the added heat of the lights and look into fans or a chiller to make sure your tank doesn't overheat.

2) Actually you should probably consider more rock no matter what you decide to do. I would recommend at least 1lb per gallon if not more. Your live rock is your best means of natural filtration.

3) Having corals doesn't affect the number of fish or inverts but it does affect the types. Some fish and inverts will decide your corals are tasty. Do A LOT of research on any critter you decide to put in your tank.

4) No. In fact see question 2.