Gardening help

chatfouz

I have my used power compact 48" light I used for reefs. The bulbs burned out. I want to try to use it as a grow light for plants. But I have not found bulbs for it that are not "reef spectrum bulbs". I know technically plants is plants and the spectrum is the same. But so far I haven't found bulbs cheaper than 55$. Is there cheaper bulbs I could use? I know our aquarium bulbs are really strong to penetrate the water. I am new to plants. Is the pc lights too much or regular florescent lights better?

I know sun is best but my apt has no "outside". It is just door and parking lot. Not a ton of room outside. any advice would be great!

I am not sure how close it relates to plants indoors, but on my freshwater planted tank I have 2 CF bulbs (1 is 6700K and the other 10K K). Plants grew very well. I was supplementing CO2 as well.

I have a 10k MH aquarium lamp over my planted tank, and have very impressive plant growth, so aquarium lamps can be used if you can get them inexpensively.. from the research I've done 6500k lamps most closely approximate natural sunlight. One thing that could possibly help: the reason most people replace aquarium lamps is the color shifting in ways that encourages algae growth rather than coral growth (as well as some loss of brightness). A PC lamp that has been replaced after a year or so still has plenty of life left in it to grow many terrestrial plants, since it doesn't have to penetrate water any more and you can just place it closer to the plant if you need more intensity. You can probably get second-hand PC lamps very cheap (if not free) if you want to go that way. The challenge there, though, would be finding daylight PCs rather than 50/50.