Elbeau's Blog

Elbeau

I've been doing reef for about 8 years now. I hardly consider myself an expert reefkeeper, but I have learned how to have fun with this hobby while keeping costs...and tank problems...down. I figure I'll write down some history entries in this blog to help others who might be going down similar paths so they can learn from the good and bad times I've had with reefkeeping.

In the beginning...

When I was a kid, my parents...oops...I mean Santa Claus...bought me a nice 29 gallon freshwater tank. This doesn't have much to do with saltwater reefkeeping...but it DOES help explain my mindset going into salt water reefkeeping. My old freshwater tank had painted-green fake gravel on the bottom, and beautiful plastic bubble producing toys scattered around the bottom. It ran on an undergravel filter and I learned that using that filter, I could siphon out all the real crap each month to keep the tank cleaner. It worked well.

That was a long time ago. By 1999, I was married with one daughter and another on the way. It was Christmas time, and my wife and I wanted to get something the family could all enjoy. We looked in the local paper (this was in Las Vegas), and found a beautiful 60-gallon glass aquarium with a great looking oak stand and canopy. It cost us $250 I think, and it came with undergravel filters, nice big flourescent bulbs like our kitchen had, and a couple of powerheads. We were quite proud of ourselves for getting what we thought was a nice, complete setup for such a low price.