refugium build help

Fragsnmore

I have a 40gal breeder tank and a 20gal long tank. I want to build a refugium with the 20gal long tank but not sure on how to start the build. I have a ati bubble master 160 skimmer that will be in there a kent marine float valve for my kalkwasser reactor also i have quiet one 2200 for my return. I have a over flow box for the 40gal tank. I'm not great on designing it. also will have cheato to. If some one could post some plans that would be great.

can you drill your fuge and elevate it above your sump. Most people split their drain from the tank and add ball valves to allow a small amount of water to enter their fuge.. Surface area is the most important thing when designing a fuge... the more the better. Then have the fuge drain back to your main sump. I have some chaeto when you come to that point and would be happy to help you on your build.

how big is the footprint on the skimmer and return pump?

Skimmers need a constant water level to work correctly and you will need a bubble trap to keep micro bubbles from pumping into your display.

20gSumpDimensions.jpg

This is the design I am using for my 45g. The left side is for the skimmer and the line from the overflow. The middle is for the refugium. the right is the return. I use the slanted baffle to reduce micro-bubbles and this also makes a good place for mechanical filtration, IE. polyfiber and carbon. This drawing is of a 30g sump but could easily be adapted to your needs.

post-953-12498440006385_thumb.jpg

I've researched refugiums a ridiculous amount lately. My current 90g build is going to be using natural filtration only in the form of a large refugium and algae scrubbers.