Building a reef setup from the ground

Nathan Explosion

So I think I have a good handle on how to keep a saltwater tank going. I have started with a FOWLR tank and had good success, now I have been getting some corals (noen green starburst, mushrooms, leather's, zoas) with good success also. I want to start getting into the larger reef set up. So I am gonna be building my own stand, and building a custom light, and I need some advice and pointers that other people wish they would of known when they started.

My first thing is that i konw slow is better. I dont plan on stocking it to the max rite away, i mite have a couple of fish 6 line wrassel, mandarin dragonette (i had one for 3 years till my seal went out and drained my tank on my floor :D ) some green chromis, and fire fish.

LIGHTING- I am an electrician and also have had experience with digital electronics technician exp. I am gonna build my own light (not 100% for sure on that yet) but was wondering for a 75 gallon tank I hear people saying like 8 watts a gallon. I was wondering where people get their supplys for that stuff, what light spectrum (in general) corals prefer. The only reason I ask is because I am thinking about instead of using MH or VHO I might use LED's (like hundreds of them) and they will cover the spectrum with over half the watts being used. But I need to know the spectrum that (in general) corals thrive on.

TANK- All I know about the tank rite now is that it is either gonna be a 75 or 90 gallon, dont know if its glass or acryl. but i know that the filtration is gonna be a sump and it needs to be drilled. Anything else i should maybe know or you would reccomend? i am just looking for ideas on how to do this the rite way this time.