New Big Reef Tank Setup

Cool Breeze

Ok so this is my first attempt at a large saltwater tank. Currently I have a 3 gallon setup growing some polyps, shooms, rici and feather dusters. With one false clown, crabs, and snails.

CIMG0846.jpg

I was planning on setting up a 55 gallon tank when I came across this one on craigslist. The guy was moving offices that day and had no way to move it. He told me if I would take it I could have it for free. The stand needed a lot of love but I have refinished everything but the canopy now.

CIMG0831.jpg

CIMG0832.jpg

CIMG0834.jpg

CIMG0837.jpg

CIMG0839.jpg

It's a 185g tank that is 8 feet long. It came with enough live rock to fill a 60 gallon trash can to the top. Which is where it sits with the skimmer that came with it hooked up.

CIMG0835.jpg

CIMG0836.jpg

I'm hoping to move the tank onto the stand this week. My first question is what is the best way to do this? This thing is very heavy. Double thick glass on the bottom, glass bracing the top, and built in overflows. And there are 2 steps up to my front porch.

This setup came with a 60 gallon trickle filter. I'm thinking of adding a fuge to it.

CIMG0840.jpg

CIMG0841.jpg

I need any suggestions on additional equipment or changes to current equipment I might need. Also any tips or tricks for an easier setup will help.

Thanks

Welcome to the big leagues! :lol:

As for moving the tank, Lots of help. Some glass moving suction cups would help too if you can find some to borrow or rent.

I would do some research on that skimmer. It looks small to me for a 185g tank. Also we need to know what kind of tank you are wanting to set up to know what other equipment you might need. (ie a calcium reactor)