New to Aquarium keeping

Chris_ATX

Hello everyone.I'm new to the world of aquariums and have been wanting to start a saltwater aquarium now for some time.

I have a 55g available but its too long for my space so wondering what would be the best option down from 4ft. If anyone has some recommendations or tanks for sale I'm happy to listen.

I look foward to learning and starting up a new hobby I hope to last many years.

40 gallon breeder is a good dimension, but you can get a 30, 50, or even a 65 gallon in the same 36 x 18 footprint.

If you're interested I still have a really nice ADA rimless 50 gallon tank in my garage, last thing I had for sale in my garage cleanout thread, there's a link to a picture as well: http://www.austinreefclub.com/topic/31928-garage-sale-consolidation-tanks-lights-and-a-few-supplies/

But otherwise, welcome to the club / hobby / addiction...

• 3 months later...

Well I finally got my tank setup with some help from Jimbo. So far I have a 90 gallon with left corner overflow and a 20 gallon sump.

In the display I have an unknown amount of dry rock, about a 2 inch sand bed, a single rw8 adding a 2nd soon and a 6 bulb t5 for lighting.

In the sump I have a Reef octopus nwb150 skimmer, 200 watt heater and a quite one 3000 return pump. I built a manifold style return so that I have the option to add reactors if needed. Already have a phosban 150 for later.

Now I have had the tank filled and running for a couple days and I have a bottle fritz zyme 9 to add but before I do I have a couple questions. The store that I got it from said that I should add fish to the display right away after adding but with this being a new tank I don't think that is right. Don't I need to wait for the tank to fully cycle before adding any livestock?

Thanks.

post-4324-0-37467700-1470807842_thumb.jp

post-4324-0-65168400-1470807883_thumb.jp