Hello & Introduction

JWreck

Howdy folks,

I tried to talk my wife into getting a dog, and we settled on a fish. It's not in my nature to do anything halfway, so I've finally got her on-board with a full reef tank setup.

I've been lurking on here for a month or so now, and finally stopped in to say hi. I'm completely new to any kind of fish or reef keeping, and I've just started collecting components. The forum has been a great resource so far...I've bought a 40 breeder from a member and picking up a sump/skimmer this week from another.

I'm still looking to buy a return pump and lights (oh the agony of shopping for lights).

It's going slowly, but my plan is to have water in the tank by the end of the year. Although it would be nice to have something pretty to look at while I piece it all together, I'm OK taking it slow as I'm really enjoying learning about the different livestock and all of the environmental needs of everything. Lots of reading, lots of opinions but lots of good information!

Looking forward to learning more and seeing everyone else's progress.

-Josh

I'd buy your pumps new... you never know how long a pump has been used, or if any regular maint was performed on them. Its the main lifeforce in your tank. (this is coming from mr frugal). Focus on your initial cycle and maintain your water parameters. once you are set, start w/ a "test" fish. I tend to use green chromis, they are usually hearty as #$%^, so if he doesn't stick around, you have something off. also, if you plan on relying on your skimmer heavily, have a replacement impeller/magnet handy... I've found those go out the most for me (seeing as they are working as intended and sucking up crap *lol*) If you are paranoid (like you should be with larger tanks) have a backup main pump ready! (i use mine for water changes, not a complete "waste").