CJohnson

Since you have more gumption than my 14 yr old, let me take a chance to get you some direct info.

(Mod if there is a more applicable thread please move)

Kidwithtank,

The very first thing you need to understand with a SW tank is the nitrofication process; and secondly the calcifcation process. If one can not explain how each works, what affects amonia, KH, calcium and MG have on EACHOTHER then one does not understand how to keep anything more than fish for very long. (typically about a year before the coral begin to die off)

After almost four years in the hobby I am still learning every day!

With regards to diatoms, there are SO many various bacteria that we can't really measure and there for do not know how long per tank a bloom will take to bloom, how long it will last, or even if it will occour at all. All of these things are sometimes said to be affected by PPM of ammonia, amount of flow, and amount of light; but I've never seen hard evidence giving a way to measure or predict what will occur in any given tank.

For example: I am about to go from 46 gallons to 90. Even if I "bake" the additional rock I will need for the 90 in cycled water for 60 months, I would still most likely see a small cycle from disturbing the sand bed when making a transfer. To combat this, I will run lights on my algea scrubber 24-7 for the first week rather than the 12-12 I run now. I do not usually run a skimmer, but I will for that week as well. All because I know I will have spikes in Nitrite, Nitrate, and most likely KH, and PO as well from the new dry rock.

I don't know that I will get a cycle, but I am combating it because I have SPS. All fish will go into holding tank for at least a month for the tank to stabilize.