tang compatibility chart

Jmvanness

Does anyone know where to find a compatibility chart specifically for tangs? If not, could you give me some combos you think would work in a 4' 150?

Right now I am thinking sailfin, scopas or flame tail, and yellow or mimic lemon peel, put I'm open to other suggestions.

If you stock outside of the family it's more likely to work as well.

Example: Zebrasoma and Ctenochaetus are pretty compatible since they generally don't compete for food and look very different. Sailfin and scopas might be an issue since they're in the same family.

Personally, yellow eye kole tangs are one of my favorites. Can't go wrong with a yellow either. Lemon peels are nice, but make sure you like what they're going to look like when they mature.

I am no expert, but I can give you my experience over the past 3 to4 years. Yellow and Sailfin didn't do well. I believe someone referenced family. My yellow only wanted to kill the beautiful sailfin I tried to introduce to my 120G. Luckily I was able to rescue him and rehome. Yellow and regal/hippo have done great...got along after a few days and basically leave each other along. I have tried two of the beautiful Nasos...on different occasions. Both died! Nothing wrong with my tank, fully cycled and running for several years, just no luck with that fish and they really need a bigger tank.

I think in general, the bigger the tank you have, maybe the better luck you will have. 150 is large, but only 4 long, so maybe a territory issue....

Michael