Help with Coral Rot/Fungus/Mold

ChaosFyre

Hey everyone. I'm new to the hobby, 6 months in. A few days ago (after I added 20 lbs of live rock I got from a reefer on this forum) I noticed some strange blackish specks on the tips of my xenia. It almost looked like a tiny bit of red hair algae. There was only a few spots.

A few days later, I noticed a few polyp stalks going black and wilting, and the root/base was turning white as if it was covered in mold. The stuff spread across the base then up adjacent stalks. The polyp heads would shrivel up and fall off.

I did a bit of research and read that there was not much I could do. I read that maybe cutting off the infected pieces would stop it, but probably not and it would likely die. By that time I couldn't really just cut it, the whole thing looked infected. I moved it out of the shadows and up into more light and flow though it had been fine there before. This didn't seem to slow or halt the fungus at all.

Then I noticed one of the polyps of one of my two pulsing xenia fragments looked dark and shriveled. This time I moved all the powerheads onto it and the one beside it, still keeping the normal xenia in the line of direct flow. Then a couple days later, the first pulsing xenia looked fine and healthy, but the one next to it was completely shriveled! Maybe it wasn't getting enough light/flow to combat the fungus, but its completely wilted now. At this point, the original non-pulsing xenia looks terrible too.

The friend who traded me these xenia fragments told me not to worry and he can give me more. Okay, but... what if it spreads to other corals?

I think I'm starting to see some of my clove polyps starting to darken and wilt now, and some white mold/wilting on the tips of my waving hand anthelia... sad.png