Help with Condy Anemone

KKAAY

I have a fairly new tank (3weeks) and did as I was instructed as far as water and rock and getting the temp and levels correct. I went to purchase my first fish (2 clowns) and some corals. My LFS sold me a condy anemone as well as a couple other corals to start out. It has since shrunk in size and I am not sure what to do about it. I have done some research and it says that it was probably too early to add this to my tank. I have also read where this is not a good host for my clowns. I am ready to take this back to the LFS and trade for something that my clowns will like. Like I said, I am new to this hobby and have a new tank. I was just trusting my LFS to not stray me in the wrong direction. Any help would be appreciated.

Condy won't host clowns and three weeks is probably a bit early for a condy in a tank. It can be done depending on your set up but typically folks recommend a more mature tank for anemones in general.

IMO: If you decide to keep the condy, it can live but needs high light. My most successful one is at the top of the tank in the highest flow and loving it.

Deflating isn't always bad though. They do shrink and then re-grow as part of their daily/weekly process but it could be a sign of them going south....

If you have good light and good water paramaters, go for it!

FWIW: I feed mine silversides once every 2 weeks. Target feed using chopsticks, maybe 1/3 or 1/4 of a silversides at a time. I know many do not target feed condys but I've had good success with mine doing this. I would not feed it if it is deflated though. Wait till it is open. Give it a week or two in the tank before trying.

Don't put the food into the mouth. Let the tentacles grab it an do their thing.

Grog

Keep an eye on your ammonia and nitrite. That's a big enough bioload all at once you could cause the tank to do a soft cycle seeing as it isn't mature. Clowns would probably be fine, but the nem is not going to like it.