New to Reefing

Venu Gundlapally

Hi, I am new to reefing and i am very interested in making this my hobby. Can someone suggest me where to start? I am basically a newbie, any help is highly appreciated. I went o aquadome in south east austin today but the red sea systems are very expensive for my budget. I was looking for a 120G system (this will fit well in the area i am planning to have one) but it was around 5K, which i was shocked. Please try to help me to get a good start. Thanks again.

Welcome to the club!   First place I would suggest is Forest Rohwer's book "Coral Reefs in the Microbial Seas".   The Kindle version is only $10.  It's an excellent introduction to the various, complicated and conflicting roles of Dissolved Organic Carbon (DOC) and microbial processes in reef systems.    Mirroring the research showing how microbes affect our physical health and sustainable farming, microbial processes play a critical role in being succesful with reef systems.   And it's important to understand when thinking of nutrients to think of nitrogen and phosphate in terms of total nitrogen (ie particulate organic nitrogen - PON, dissolved organic nitrogen - DON, and dissolved inorganic nitrogen - DIN) and total phosphate (ie particulate organic phosphate - POP, dissolved organic phosphate - DOP, and dissolved inorganic phosphate - DIP).  Just looking at nitrate and phosphate is missing huge parts of the picture.   If this seems very complicated remember the corals already have it all figured out.   You also do not need a lot of complicated equipment (this system I maintain has no external filtration just power heads and air pumps).  I am keeping multiple systems and animals in my business that are decades old without a lot of extraneous add ons.  (Check my youtube link for videos of some of them.) 

Getting back to  nutrients here's what two experts on coral reefs have to say: