10G beginner tank

Saltyshay

This is my first attempt at saltwater. I'm currently living in an apartment so size of tank is extreamly limited especially being on the 3rd floor. I plan on getting a pistol shrimp and watchmen goby pair and really just getting comfortable testing saltwater parameters and making necassary adjustments. I have a ten gallon tank with a decent sized live rock and live sand for filtration. I also added a hang on back aqua  clear 30 for extra filtration and some flow. So here starts what I hope leads to a major upgrade once my living situation allows for a proper set up 

IMG_2846.JPG

I do plan on some hardy corals but I am unsure if my current light will put off enough PAR. I will be going to the meet up this weekend so if anyone has a hardy frag I may give it a try. My light was giving off about 30 PAR in a 20G tall freshwater and could sustain plants not sure how that will transfer to a 10G saltwater.

7 hours ago, Saltyshay said:

Update: found an affordable light that I'm comfortable keeping corals with have seen some reviews and I'm confident it will maintain and grow some hardy corals will be coming in tomorrow so hopefully I will be adding some coral very soon. 

Sweet. What did you get?

The light came in I didn't like how the bracket mounted to the back or where it placed the light so I removed the bracket and placed it on my eggcrate DIY lid and I'm satisfied with the result considering the price. Still have to adjust the light settings it has options for more blues or more white. 

IMG_2849.JPG

Think I have over researched the pistol shrimp/yellow watchmen pair and I've scared my self into believing the piston shrimp could kill my clownfish. 🤔 Anyone have any experience with pistol shrimp and having other fish besides the yellow watchmen with it