First time reefer in Austin

Io Montecillo

Hi there - I've been into the FW hobby for a while now and have recently delved into SW. I'm new to reefing and decided to convert my old Fluval Spec 3 into a pico coral-only tank with live rock and live sand. I have an ATO, a custom media rack with filter floss, live rock rubble, purigen, and ceramic pellets. I'm running a small white and blue finnex LED.

As far as stocking is concerned I'm sticking to softies. I currently have frags of zoas, a hairy mushroom, a florida ricordea, and a kenya tree coral. In addition to my small clean up crew, I might get a Yasha or Watchman Goby and a Pistol Shrimp a few months from now once my tank has matured a bit and I get the hang of keeping my water quality stable. Looking forward to learning more about the hobby though this forum!

Please let me know if you have any advice for a newbie!

Question: How do I reply to the "Want to Sell or Trade" forum? I assumed a Basic Membership allows me to reply and purchase, but not to post new sales of my own. Any one able to help troubleshoot? Thanks!

Welcome! I love picos, and the Fluval Spec series work great. I would recommend staying away from the shrimp/goby pair in a tank as small as the 3 though. While there are fish that can manage such a sol space and don't move around much, in that size aquarium you'd probably have more luck (and happier inhabitants) with some inverts like a trio of sexy shrimp.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

On 2/17/2017 at 0:06 PM, Io Montecillo said:

Please let me know if you have any advice for a newbie!

Question: How do I reply to the "Want to Sell or Trade" forum? I assumed a Basic Membership allows me to reply and purchase, but not to post new sales of my own. Any one able to help troubleshoot? Thanks!

Welcome :wave:

Non-premium members lost the ability to reply to existing threads in the classifieds section with the migration last month. You'll have to send them a private message.