Have a new 38 gallon!

tim

My excitement got the best of me and I ended up buying a bigger fully setup aquarium from a neighbor! It is an JEBO R375 with tons of nice live rock, a bunch of softies, a firefish, and a shrimp. I’ve moved over a clownfish, a turbo, and two hermit crabs from the nano.

I've been running a Nanocube 12G for about 5 years. So this thing feels really different. I'm confused by the filtration. There is an internal powerhead on a wavemaker, another powerhead moving water from the left of the tank through the hood back to the right side of the tank, and then a pelican biowheel filter hanging on the back. I didn’t think biowheels were really used in a reef setup? The R375 isn’t drilled and there is no sump.

What would a “typical” filter setup look like for a 40ish gallon tank? What kind of cleanup crew should I be stocking -- there wasn't anything in the original setup?

Looking forward to meeting folks online and hopefully in person!

Cheers,

-Tim

PS - what should I do with my old nano tank? I’m not up for two tanks!

post-4471-0-97075600-1482469330_thumb.jp

Being this is approx 40 gallons, you can certainly run a biowheel for filtration. I run a 20 gallon with a hang on back filter with one circulation pump going across the front to create flow. The circulation pump collides witht the return on the hang on back to create turbulance that the clowns play in. Having two internal circulation pumps sounds like a lot of flow (depending on the size) but if your animals are doing well, let it ride. I run both carbon and GFO bags in the hang on back filter along with a simple filter to catch large particles. Don't get me wrong, you could go with a full on hang on back overflow and sump if you wanted.