150 Gal XT - A DIY Guide & Build

Neon Reefer

150 Gal XT Build

By Neon Reefer

Goal: 150 gallon build- quality grade tank and stand w/ a 40G sump.

You guys already know I am a DIY builder and have previously done a 75 G and a 40 G build both on a shoe string. My goal this time is to do a 150 build utilizing some new equipment, some used equipment purchased here on our ARC forum, with some equipment from my DIY shop. This tank build will include a how to format for individual DIY projects you may have.

Tank 150 G (48L x 24D x 30H) Marineland Perfecto 2 years old purchased for $60 as a leaker. This tank had several leaks on the bottom but only a couple of light scratches on one side from rock. Otherwise is a nearly new tank simply requiring some TLC.

Contents

Sealing the tank

Drilling the tank.

Prepping for the drilling process

Drilling process

Installing and testing the bulkheads

Building the hood

Building the stand

Building the Manifold

Building the Sump

The Dosing Pumps & ATO

The Finished Product

Adjustments at install

post-3185-0-69810400-1433261442_thumb.jp

1.) Sealing the tank