MINI

GettingStarted

Hello everyone, been stalking you all for a year now and time I got started on my second tank. I'm actually new to Austin, moving halfway across the country means I had to leave my first reef tank behind. I have left my first employer in Austin due to lack of opportunities to grow. While I'm between work, I've been setting up this tank slowly, painfully slowly...

This post is for me to share with those of you who are interested in nano reefs, the all in ones, the natural approach. If you skim this post to look for images, there will be plenty, but my approach and slow and steady so don't expect too frequent of updates. Feel free to ask any related questions you may have, let my knowledge be of guidance and I too will learn from you.

I like to keep things short and share as I go, for now, the setup.

Equipment:

20G Long, top rim removed

diy acrylic all in one sump

maxi-jet 900

Finnex HPS-100

Most of what I currently have, has been recycled from my last tank with a few donated bits from mbrown. Standby as cloudiness goes away for me to continue share.

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone. It's my first time playing with acrylic weld and it was well worth it. Makes the AIO walls far stronger then my first tank with silicone.

I had very good success growing LPS and Softies using a cheapo Odyssey t5ho fixture last time around. This time I'm aiming for an LED fixture and add SPS for a more diverse mixed reef. Still debating if I should go DIY or buy a name brand. I believe my deciding factor currently is if I want to put money into a system with a controller. I know for the health of the coral, all they'll really need is a dimmable fixture connected to an outlet timer. Thoughts from anyone who has a LED light with controller? Simple pros and cons?