Rowa Phos vs High Capacity GFO (BRS)

sifuentes31

So i got into a discussion with some guy in San Antonio about both Rowa and GFO. He was so adamant about using Rowa Phos and didn't want to hear about anyone using anything else. For me i told him the HCGFO was better because that is what i have been using for 2+ years and has worked great for me . Still seemed like he didn't want to hear it. He also wanted to see studies done to show the effectiveness of the HCGFO. I just told him that that's what i've been using and it's worked great for me. So how do you guys feel about both and any Pros or Cons on using both of the products. Just curious....

I know that Don Duncan and Wizard prefer Rowa Phos and they had some amazing SPS tanks.

I was using HCGFO but switched back to the regular GFO to try to compare the difference and see if it's worth the extra cost.

I was using BRS GFO and switched to Phosguard because I was out of GFO and at the time could get the Phosguard locally. I was not having the same results as the GFO so I switched back and have been happy that I did.

Yup also used Phosgaurd on my 29 but didn't do crap for me. So how long will the Rowa last in lightly stock tank. I have personally never used the stuff so just wanted to know how others have faired with it.

The primary CON I have with the HCGFO is I have to change it... once in a while. smile.png Other than that it works great, if they could come up with a SELF Changing solution it would be PERFECT, well for me. I have not tried any of the others, so I'm also interested in seeing the feedback.

I use phosguard as well since I can dump it in my reactor and go. With other media I had to deal with the dust and precleaning. I change out the media on the 1st of the month. I do not use a skimmer and have a large stock and feed daily.

I also get my media from Amazon for way cheaper than the LFS

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000255PHG/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i02?ie=UTF8&psc=1