First Time Build

Planeden

Well, there seems to be a lot of competition for build threads right now, so I appreciate you taking the time to view this. As many of you know, this is my first time with water I can't drink in a pinch.

First, nothing salty will be going in here until at least the end of May. But it would be nice if I could have everything I need and ready to setup by then so i can jump right in. Don't be fooled, that is freshwater.

post-3177-0-78139600-1366845228_thumb.jp

I got a system from Brooks. It is a 40 gallon.

Equipment List:

40 gallon tank

20 gallon sump (holds about 15 gallons)

Eheim 1262-310 return pump

Bubble Magnus NAC-3 skimmer Not running a skimmer

1 or 2 Jebao WP-25 powerheads (ordering 2, but 1 may be enough which means i'll have a spare).

1 or 2 Tunze Turbelle Nanostream 6045 (400 GPH - 1175 GPH)

Heater - currently 100 W Eheim may upgrade or buy a spare.

AI Nano LED lights

AI Super Blue Sol LED Lights

BRS GFO/AC reactor deluxe with MJ1200 pump. (use for AC only)

Rock/Substrate

BRS Reef Saver Dry Rock

BRS Rubble

Caribea 1mm - 2mm Aragonite Sand (Dead)

1" Refugium Mud

TBD Equipment List

Possibly an ATO, but there is not a lot of room in the stand.

Other equipment advice?

post-3177-0-95526000-1366845262_thumb.jp

I got home with the tank last friday and filled it with water to make sure I got everything hooked up right. I was going to leave the doors off for a while, but:

post-3177-0-39320800-1366845282_thumb.jp

He has brain damage and loves playing in water. We have to keep all the toilet seats down and dive into the shower. It seems that I will have to lock him up when working on the tank because between the uncordination from the brain damage and the 6 extra toes (and claws), trying to get things done often leads to a loss of blood.

Current Problems: