Do cleaner shrimp sting?

KarenM

I stupidly trained my cleaner shrimp to take food from my fingers. It's fun, but now every time I put my hand in the tank he comes running. About 15 minutes ago I was doing some minor rearranging and something stung my arm. I have an anemone, but I wasn't near it. The only thing near my arm was the cleaner shrimp. it still stings like crazy (I've been running cold water on it). There's a quarter sized red spot with a bunch of tiny bumps on it.

No I dont think shrimp sting. This is just a total guess, but could it have been a hydroid?

I don't know what that is. ;) I'm new to SW. But I did buy a clam and some corals a ocuple of days ago, so I suppose there could have been a hijacker, but it would have to be small and hard to see as I haven't seen anything unusual.

Cleaner shrimp don't sting. Some times my arms get irritated after being in the tank. I have also read, article, that small flukes can come in on snails. They stay in the water column and borrow into your skin. It sounds very scary.

Ok, can you make that sound any scarier?? :|

You are gonna make it so poor Karen never puts her arms in the tank again ;)

Ok, can you make that sound any scarier?? :|

You are gonna make it so poor Karen never puts her arms in the tank again :|

No kidding! I know I won't be sticking that arm in there for awhile. :D I'm trying to make my clam happy, and I was following the other thread. He moved his up higher, so I did, too. Then this morning I read where he put it where it wouldn't get quite so much light, so that's what I was doing. But that darned cleaner shrimp was trying to get me the whole time. ;)